mandelwow.git
3 years agowasm: Enable backtraces in browser console
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 14 Oct 2018 16:27:55 +0000 (01:27 +0900)]
wasm: Enable backtraces in browser console

3 years agoUpdate to image 0.20
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 14 Oct 2018 16:17:19 +0000 (01:17 +0900)]
Update to image 0.20

3 years agoUse GLSL 3.0 ES for all shaders
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 14 Oct 2018 15:43:40 +0000 (00:43 +0900)]
Use GLSL 3.0 ES for all shaders

3 years agoPort to glium 0.22 and clutin 0.18
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 29 Sep 2018 12:13:36 +0000 (21:13 +0900)]
Port to glium 0.22 and clutin 0.18

3 years agoAdd a .editorconfig file (4 spaces indentation)
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 07:29:40 +0000 (16:29 +0900)]
Add a .editorconfig file (4 spaces indentation)

3 years agoTweak the wasm build scripts
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 31 May 2018 12:45:11 +0000 (21:45 +0900)]
Tweak the wasm build scripts

3 years agoUpdate deps: glium 0.21, glutin 0.14
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 31 May 2018 12:44:29 +0000 (21:44 +0900)]
Update deps: glium 0.21, glutin 0.14

3 years agoUpdate to glium 0.20 + glutin 0.12
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 6 Apr 2018 12:37:10 +0000 (21:37 +0900)]
Update to glium 0.20 + glutin 0.12

3 years agoDon't request a GL context with sRGB enabled.
Bernie Innocenti [Wed, 20 Dec 2017 21:21:49 +0000 (16:21 -0500)]
Don't request a GL context with sRGB enabled.

It's not supported by the Intel Linux drivers (not in my configuration,
at least).

3 years agoAttempt at enabling WebGL2 in wasm (not yet working).
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 04:48:33 +0000 (23:48 -0500)]
Attempt at enabling WebGL2 in wasm (not yet working).

3 years agoCleanup unused imports.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 18 Dec 2017 04:47:13 +0000 (23:47 -0500)]
Cleanup unused imports.

3 years agoUpdate wasm targets for emcc 1.37.22
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 17 Dec 2017 00:58:45 +0000 (19:58 -0500)]
Update wasm targets for emcc 1.37.22

Currently, the main loop seems to get stuck, needs some debugging.

3 years agoUpdate to latest glutin, glium and image.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 17 Dec 2017 00:57:59 +0000 (19:57 -0500)]
Update to latest glutin, glium and image.

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/~/public_git/mandelwow
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 29 Sep 2017 22:57:59 +0000 (18:57 -0400)]
Merge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/~/public_git/mandelwow

4 years agoPort to glium 0.17 and glutin 0.9.
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 29 Sep 2017 22:53:48 +0000 (18:53 -0400)]
Port to glium 0.17 and glutin 0.9.

Involved a major rework of input handling.

4 years agoImprove asmjs build docs.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 9 Sep 2017 18:10:32 +0000 (14:10 -0400)]
Improve asmjs build docs.

4 years agoRemove the wavefront object loader for now...
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 23 Jul 2017 04:14:27 +0000 (00:14 -0400)]
Remove the wavefront object loader for now...

I'd rather convert the vertexes to binary and then include_bytes!

4 years agoRemove alpha from screenshots.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 18:36:21 +0000 (14:36 -0400)]
Remove alpha from screenshots.

4 years agoAdd screenshot.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 18:36:13 +0000 (14:36 -0400)]
Add screenshot.

4 years agoPut text on the top faces of cubes.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 18:04:21 +0000 (14:04 -0400)]
Put text on the top faces of cubes.

4 years agoLoad shaders to shaders/
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 16:21:51 +0000 (12:21 -0400)]
Load shaders to shaders/

4 years agoDelete shaders in top-level directory.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 16:12:22 +0000 (12:12 -0400)]
Delete shaders in top-level directory.

4 years agoPrevent global CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS from percolating into the wasm build.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 16:22:23 +0000 (12:22 -0400)]
Prevent global CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS from percolating into the wasm build.

4 years agoMove text rendering shaders out of line.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 16:09:00 +0000 (12:09 -0400)]
Move text rendering shaders out of line.

4 years agoMove shaders and textures into subdirectories.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Jul 2017 01:21:29 +0000 (21:21 -0400)]
Move shaders and textures into subdirectories.

4 years agoTemporarily disable panic="abort".
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 7 Jul 2017 15:15:28 +0000 (11:15 -0400)]
Temporarily disable panic="abort".

This is a workaround for:

  error: the crate `bitflags` is compiled with the panic strategy `abort` which is incompatible with this crate's strategy of `unwind`

4 years agoDisable Rocket in the default build and update build instructions.
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 7 Jul 2017 15:03:59 +0000 (11:03 -0400)]
Disable Rocket in the default build and update build instructions.

4 years agoMove editor code into Timer.
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 6 Jul 2017 06:19:42 +0000 (02:19 -0400)]
Move editor code into Timer.

Maybe rename Timer to Player? Not today.

4 years agoMove most timing-related code to new module timer.rs
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 6 Jul 2017 05:08:11 +0000 (01:08 -0400)]
Move most timing-related code to new module timer.rs

4 years agoTweak release options to shrink the binary a bit.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 16:20:31 +0000 (12:20 -0400)]
Tweak release options to shrink the binary a bit.

cargo build --release --no-default-features && strip target/release/mandelwow

Binary size: 1436288

4 years agoLoad the c64 font as a raw bitmap without using the image crate.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 15:55:51 +0000 (11:55 -0400)]
Load the c64 font as a raw bitmap without using the image crate.

Shaves 170KB from the stripped binary.

4 years agoAdd rust-rocket optional dependency.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 2 Jul 2017 15:16:26 +0000 (11:16 -0400)]
Add rust-rocket optional dependency.

4 years agoFix style warnings from clippy.
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 29 Jun 2017 10:51:38 +0000 (06:51 -0400)]
Fix style warnings from clippy.

4 years agoUpdate shaded_cube bench.
Bernie Innocenti [Tue, 27 Jun 2017 06:23:15 +0000 (02:23 -0400)]
Update shaded_cube bench.

4 years agoAdd build instructions for Windows.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 26 Jun 2017 00:20:51 +0000 (20:20 -0400)]
Add build instructions for Windows.

4 years agoDraw the cubes using flat shading and fewer vertexes.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 26 Jun 2017 05:29:02 +0000 (01:29 -0400)]
Draw the cubes using flat shading and fewer vertexes.

Described in detail here: http://poniesandlight.co.uk/notes/flat_shading_on_osx/

4 years agoSimplify SoundPlayer's hit_event().
Bernie Innocenti [Wed, 21 Jun 2017 22:20:32 +0000 (18:20 -0400)]
Simplify SoundPlayer's hit_event().

4 years agosRGB correction for C64 palette.
Bernie Innocenti [Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:17:32 +0000 (02:17 -0400)]
sRGB correction for C64 palette.

4 years agoUse a regular float texture for the font.
Bernie Innocenti [Wed, 21 Jun 2017 04:51:46 +0000 (00:51 -0400)]
Use a regular float texture for the font.

Unsigned textures silently fail with Intel... &#@@?!

4 years agoAllow selecting text fg and bg colors.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 18 Jun 2017 22:38:11 +0000 (18:38 -0400)]
Allow selecting text fg and bg colors.

Also use a grayscale bitmap for the C64 font.

4 years agoIndex the font to pick any character.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 18 Jun 2017 17:04:32 +0000 (13:04 -0400)]
Index the font to pick any character.

4 years agoRender text with a C64 font!
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 18 Jun 2017 16:56:24 +0000 (12:56 -0400)]
Render text with a C64 font!

4 years agoImplement fractal pulsing on music clap hit.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 12 Jun 2017 01:05:27 +0000 (21:05 -0400)]
Implement fractal pulsing on music clap hit.

4 years agoDetect instrument hits in music.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 11 Jun 2017 15:07:54 +0000 (11:07 -0400)]
Detect instrument hits in music.

4 years agoLight fading in the distance on the sea, add green ripples on the waves.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 11 Jun 2017 01:09:50 +0000 (21:09 -0400)]
Light fading in the distance on the sea, add green ripples on the waves.

4 years agoDisable local repositories for glutin and glium.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 29 May 2017 00:56:26 +0000 (20:56 -0400)]
Disable local repositories for glutin and glium.

4 years agoMake the mandelwow corona fade slower.
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 12 May 2017 04:18:44 +0000 (00:18 -0400)]
Make the mandelwow corona fade slower.

4 years agoRemove backtrace fork for emscripten.
Bernie Innocenti [Thu, 11 May 2017 05:05:18 +0000 (01:05 -0400)]
Remove backtrace fork for emscripten.

4 years agoMake the shaded_cube benchmark actually draw the cube on the screen.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 8 May 2017 03:34:39 +0000 (23:34 -0400)]
Make the shaded_cube benchmark actually draw the cube on the screen.

4 years agoAdd a benchmark for ShadedCube.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 8 May 2017 03:10:17 +0000 (23:10 -0400)]
Add a benchmark for ShadedCube.

4 years agoUse culling to draw sea of cubes.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 8 May 2017 00:34:05 +0000 (20:34 -0400)]
Use culling to draw sea of cubes.

4 years agoAdd FPS counter.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 8 May 2017 00:33:35 +0000 (20:33 -0400)]
Add FPS counter.

4 years agoRemove placeholder game loop code.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 8 May 2017 00:32:55 +0000 (20:32 -0400)]
Remove placeholder game loop code.

4 years agoPrecompute perspective * projection for the cubes.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 22:03:30 +0000 (18:03 -0400)]
Precompute perspective * projection for the cubes.

4 years agoAsmjs doc fixes.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 16:25:46 +0000 (12:25 -0400)]
Asmjs doc fixes.

4 years agoDelete some commented out code.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 16:11:08 +0000 (12:11 -0400)]
Delete some commented out code.

4 years agoSimplify sea initialization.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 05:16:06 +0000 (01:16 -0400)]
Simplify sea initialization.

4 years agoBump version to 0.7.0. v0.7.0
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 00:38:01 +0000 (20:38 -0400)]
Bump version to 0.7.0.

4 years agoAdd sea waves!
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 00:37:25 +0000 (20:37 -0400)]
Add sea waves!

4 years agoChange the light direction to nake the cubes less symmetric.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 00:36:49 +0000 (20:36 -0400)]
Change the light direction to nake the cubes less symmetric.

4 years agoMake mouse camera movement smoother.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 7 May 2017 00:36:10 +0000 (20:36 -0400)]
Make mouse camera movement smoother.

4 years agoAdd a sea shaded cubes, just because. No big deal (yet).
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 6 May 2017 23:33:13 +0000 (19:33 -0400)]
Add a sea shaded cubes, just because. No big deal (yet).

4 years agoBump version to 0.6.0 v0.6.0
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 6 May 2017 03:28:40 +0000 (23:28 -0400)]
Bump version to 0.6.0

4 years agoAdd a simple benchmark for bounding_box
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 6 May 2017 03:27:14 +0000 (23:27 -0400)]
Add a simple benchmark for bounding_box

4 years agoCreate mandelwow_lib.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 6 May 2017 03:26:53 +0000 (23:26 -0400)]
Create mandelwow_lib.

4 years agoConvert bounding_box to a struct.
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 5 May 2017 03:27:42 +0000 (23:27 -0400)]
Convert bounding_box to a struct.

4 years agoRemove teapot
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 1 May 2017 04:27:23 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
Remove teapot

4 years agoSome cleanups for wasm and asmjs
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 1 May 2017 01:15:51 +0000 (21:15 -0400)]
Some cleanups for wasm and asmjs

4 years agoSame code now builds and runs both natively and as asmjs.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 23 Apr 2017 05:09:00 +0000 (01:09 -0400)]
Same code now builds and runs both natively and as asmjs.

4 years agoAdd music to emscripten port. emscripten
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 22 Apr 2017 23:40:33 +0000 (19:40 -0400)]
Add music to emscripten port.

4 years agoSwitch to WebGL 2.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 22 Apr 2017 22:46:49 +0000 (18:46 -0400)]
Switch to WebGL 2.

4 years agoImprove asmjs support, add wasm target.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 22 Apr 2017 20:19:10 +0000 (16:19 -0400)]
Improve asmjs support, add wasm target.

4 years agoA pile of gross hacks, but works in a browser so it's all justified.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 17 Apr 2017 02:18:05 +0000 (22:18 -0400)]
A pile of gross hacks, but works in a browser so it's all justified.

4 years agoStart using cgmath.
Bernie Innocenti [Tue, 11 Apr 2017 02:39:42 +0000 (22:39 -0400)]
Start using cgmath.

4 years agoBump version to 0.5.0.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 9 Apr 2017 01:37:25 +0000 (21:37 -0400)]
Bump version to 0.5.0.

4 years agoImplement mouse panning and streamline keyboard movement.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 9 Apr 2017 01:31:35 +0000 (21:31 -0400)]
Implement mouse panning and streamline keyboard movement.

4 years agoShorten glutin symbols in camera.
Bernie Innocenti [Sun, 9 Apr 2017 00:29:51 +0000 (20:29 -0400)]
Shorten glutin symbols in camera.

4 years agoAdd screenshot function (F10).
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 22:49:26 +0000 (18:49 -0400)]
Add screenshot function (F10).

4 years agoShrink release binary a bit.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 22:17:12 +0000 (18:17 -0400)]
Shrink release binary a bit.

4 years agoMove GLSL shaders to external files and use include_str!() to load them.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 20:33:50 +0000 (16:33 -0400)]
Move GLSL shaders to external files and use include_str!() to load them.

4 years agoSplit bounding_box to its own module.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 19:23:14 +0000 (15:23 -0400)]
Split bounding_box to its own module.

4 years agoBump version to 0.4.0. v0.4.0
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 19:00:43 +0000 (15:00 -0400)]
Bump version to 0.4.0.

4 years agoIgnore generated files.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 18:59:16 +0000 (14:59 -0400)]
Ignore generated files.

4 years agoAdd README.md and LICENSE
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 18:58:30 +0000 (14:58 -0400)]
Add README.md and LICENSE

4 years agoMake music optional.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:41:33 +0000 (13:41 -0400)]
Make music optional.

4 years agoModularize a bit more: split mandelwow and cube to separate files.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:31:51 +0000 (13:31 -0400)]
Modularize a bit more: split mandelwow and cube to separate files.

4 years agoAdjust mandelwow z limits and make glow fade non-linearly (tanh).
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 16:46:39 +0000 (12:46 -0400)]
Adjust mandelwow z limits and make glow fade non-linearly (tanh).

4 years agoMove sound code to sound.rs
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 16:33:31 +0000 (12:33 -0400)]
Move sound code to sound.rs

4 years agoMake A and D turn the camera left and right, respectively.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 16:17:46 +0000 (12:17 -0400)]
Make A and D turn the camera left and right, respectively.

4 years agoReformat.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 14:50:16 +0000 (10:50 -0400)]
Reformat.

4 years agoPlay some music!
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 14:29:56 +0000 (10:29 -0400)]
Play some music!

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of ssh://sunjammer.sugarlabs.org/~/public_git/mandelwow
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 13:49:05 +0000 (09:49 -0400)]
Merge branch 'master' of ssh://sunjammer.sugarlabs.org/~/public_git/mandelwow

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/~/public_git/mandelwow
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 13:47:58 +0000 (09:47 -0400)]
Merge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/~/public_git/mandelwow

4 years agoLoad a test XM module, does not yet play.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 13:46:40 +0000 (09:46 -0400)]
Load a test XM module, does not yet play.

4 years agoLoad a test XM module, does not play it yet.
Bernie Innocenti [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 13:46:40 +0000 (09:46 -0400)]
Load a test XM module, does not play it yet.

4 years agoAdd fullscreen.
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 00:27:52 +0000 (20:27 -0400)]
Add fullscreen.

Also add fullscreen toggling with the F key (doesn't work on X11 though).

4 years agoBump version to 0.2.0. v0.2.0
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 3 Apr 2017 05:14:41 +0000 (01:14 -0400)]
Bump version to 0.2.0.

4 years agoAdd bounding box toggling with the B key.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 3 Apr 2017 05:03:14 +0000 (01:03 -0400)]
Add bounding box toggling with the B key.

4 years agoCleanups.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 3 Apr 2017 04:50:49 +0000 (00:50 -0400)]
Cleanups.

4 years agoFinish renaming project to Mandelwow.
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 3 Apr 2017 04:23:43 +0000 (00:23 -0400)]
Finish renaming project to Mandelwow.