wizbackup.git
6 weeks agoImprove docs. master
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 9 Aug 2021 23:27:57 +0000 (01:27 +0200)]
Improve docs.

6 weeks agoRename INSTALL to README.md
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 9 Aug 2021 23:09:35 +0000 (01:09 +0200)]
Rename INSTALL to README.md

4 years agoHush error output from ls when no monthly backups are present.
Sugar Labs BOFH [Thu, 2 Feb 2017 03:37:44 +0000 (22:37 -0500)]
Hush error output from ls when no monthly backups are present.

Also fix printing the full command line in the log.

4 years agoFix monthly backups not being rotated.
Sugar Labs BOFH [Thu, 2 Feb 2017 03:10:01 +0000 (22:10 -0500)]
Fix monthly backups not being rotated.

Two distinct bugs in bash variable manipulation:
 - "$DATE-monthly" should have been "${DATE}-monthly"
 - "date +%d" outputs "01" and not "1".

Yes, my bash-fu is weak.

5 years agoDrop the arcfour cipher.
Bernie Innocenti [Tue, 1 Mar 2016 07:09:25 +0000 (02:09 -0500)]
Drop the arcfour cipher.

It's no longer needed for performance, since modern Intel hardware can do
over 300MB/s with the cipher negotiated by default (aes128-gcm@openssh.com).

6 years agoBump version to 3.0.
Sugar Labs BOFH [Sun, 17 May 2015 05:48:04 +0000 (01:48 -0400)]
Bump version to 3.0.

6 years agoMerge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/git/bernie/wizbackup
Sugar Labs BOFH [Sun, 17 May 2015 05:40:58 +0000 (01:40 -0400)]
Merge branch 'master' of ssh://codewiz.org/git/bernie/wizbackup

Conflicts:
wizbackup

6 years agoIntroduce the notion of weekly and monthly snapshots.
Sugar Labs BOFH [Sun, 17 May 2015 05:35:25 +0000 (01:35 -0400)]
Introduce the notion of weekly and monthly snapshots.

By default, we keep 6 daily, 4 weekly and 3 monthly snapshots.
Should save a ton of space with most workloads while preserving
more history.

6 years agoSmall indentation changes.
Sugar Labs BOFH [Sun, 17 May 2015 05:11:30 +0000 (01:11 -0400)]
Small indentation changes.

8 years agoReport errors
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 23:39:54 +0000 (18:39 -0500)]
Report errors

8 years agoAdd config
Bernie Innocenti [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 23:39:45 +0000 (18:39 -0500)]
Add config

9 years agoAdd installation instructions
root [Sat, 12 Nov 2011 03:39:28 +0000 (22:39 -0500)]
Add installation instructions

9 years agoRun backups nicely
root [Mon, 17 Oct 2011 23:39:13 +0000 (19:39 -0400)]
Run backups nicely

9 years agoMake the EXCLUDES/ALWAYS file optional
Bernie Innocenti [Tue, 11 Oct 2011 03:33:47 +0000 (23:33 -0400)]
Make the EXCLUDES/ALWAYS file optional

10 years agoLog the complete command line
FSF BOFH [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:24:11 +0000 (11:24 -0400)]
Log the complete command line

10 years agoTake backup destination as an argument
FSF BOFH [Mon, 22 Aug 2011 20:08:40 +0000 (16:08 -0400)]
Take backup destination as an argument

10 years agoRead excludes from /backup directory
FSF BOFH [Thu, 18 Aug 2011 22:03:37 +0000 (18:03 -0400)]
Read excludes from /backup directory

10 years agoAbort on low disk space
FSF BOFH [Tue, 26 Jul 2011 23:07:46 +0000 (19:07 -0400)]
Abort on low disk space

10 years agoCleanup tmp directory if cp -lR fails
FSF BOFH [Tue, 26 Jul 2011 22:05:43 +0000 (18:05 -0400)]
Cleanup tmp directory if cp -lR fails

10 years agoUpdate copyright headers
FSF BOFH [Tue, 26 Jul 2011 16:50:25 +0000 (12:50 -0400)]
Update copyright headers

10 years agoCoalesce rsync options, plus misc cleanups
FSF BOFH [Tue, 26 Jul 2011 01:30:36 +0000 (21:30 -0400)]
Coalesce rsync options, plus misc cleanups

10 years agoExclude tmp dir from pruning
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 25 Jul 2011 20:07:01 +0000 (16:07 -0400)]
Exclude tmp dir from pruning

10 years agoSplit out init and prune stages from do_link()
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 25 Jul 2011 20:04:16 +0000 (16:04 -0400)]
Split out init and prune stages from do_link()

10 years agoInitial commit
Bernie Innocenti [Mon, 25 Jul 2011 19:00:05 +0000 (15:00 -0400)]
Initial commit